Good Evening everyone,

Its finally towards the end of the semester-something I have been waiting for for WAY too long, and with that comes my final project in WARP. I will admit that it is not the most proud piece that I have done this semester but when I really think about how the concept of it warped itself to bending me at its will…well, I can say that’s pretty cool.

So what IS the piece about? It actually went through a lot (a LOT) of revision as to what the idea was. The final product is the idea of how the attempt at attaining beauty cripples us – physically, internally, emotionally –  and the amount of money, time, and energy we spend to actualize that vision. So before going on, here is what it looks like:

This is made straight pins (those pearly needles that people sometimes use to pin point spots on a map). Over thousands of them in different colors, and on the back side of this fabric are the needles poking through.

As you guessed, it isn’t finished. One reason is because of how ridiculously expensive this tiny thing turned out to be and how much time and stress was focused on it. It even frustrates me when I talk about it because when I look at the piece, I wouldn’t even believe my own story and would think that the artist (which is me) is simply lazy. But there is no reason to lie about anything here so this is the cold hard truth: I hated working on this.

Remember the concept of the piece? Its ironic how the process of making this fits better than the actual outcome of the physical object. On my quest to create something pretty on one side, I became obsessed with it and that was all I was doing for weeks-working on pinning pins through a blanket. It took all of my time, it cost me tons of money (over $160), and hurt my back from kneeling over so much.  I think the act of creating this was the art itself, not like in a performance piece, but having this as the document of that labor. Anyway, its up to you to decide how you feel about it.

And here are some more detail pics

