Hi guys,

I haven’t posted any inspirational art or artists for a while, so now’s a good time to get back into that habit. I was browsing around the web for inspiration for my final project when I came across the artist Haroshi. His series of works are made from recycled used skateboards in which he creates these beautiful wooden sculptures. They keep the wooden integrity while adding specks of color in the pieces. They are hyper realistic (which is incredible to think its made of wood in some of them) but keep a playful tone to it. His work just seems honest, honest to what he loves to do, in this case skateboarding and making art. They are simple sculptures yet extremely complicated within the sculpture’s simple form. Because of the duality of his work on being complicatedly simple, he creates this sort of elegance that sends you in awe. At least it does for me 😛

Here are some of his works, ranging in scale, complexity, and subject.

 

If you find him as amazing as I do, here’s his link to his website: haroshi.com

Stay motivated and inspired!

-Junli

