Hey everybody!

I was talking with my sister the other day who is also studying design and she mentioned keeping a typography journal. I think its actually a really good idea. It keeps your brain working as well as the creative juices flowing. So what I’m going to start doing is keeping a typographic journal, or typojournal…or typoblog…type-a-blog. TYPA-BLOG! Hah… you’ve just witnessed my brain in action.

By doing this, it should help me to post more often, show you some more interesting works of my own, and mostly help me stay creative and active in design because all of this other homework is getting the best of me. To start this Typa-blog, here’s my first image I did today. It went through several stages before finally ending up as this and I’m pretty satisfied with how it came out 🙂

It isn’t an obvious photo where its completely light and happy as the word denotes. Instead, it is set in a dark setting but the word “smile” is lit like a candle referencing how the simplest act or kindest gesture can warm someone’s heart or brighten someone’s day 🙂

Here’s to a new beginning!

