Hi everyone!

I finished my Belief sculpture a while ago but the reason I hadn’t posted pictures of it was because I wanted to get better shots, the way it was supposed to be. Sadly, I’ll have to do with what I have because as I was going to re-shoot the photos this weekend, there are several problems: 1) its still incredibly windy (my sculpture is made out of balloons so you can guess how that will turn out), 2) its raining this whole week, 3) my balloons are deflated.

As you can see, there’s not much to go on. And the sad thing is that I payed for the balloons to last a week, which is obviously not the case. Even now when I stare at them I feel a little depressed. Oh well, such is life =/Ā  I do want to throw out this question however: If your art piece is meant to be outside to complete the work of art but the weather does not permit you to do so, should your grade be jeopardized? In my opinion, I don’t think so. Its not like I can control the weather, who can? And just because an art work is meant to be outside doesn’t mean it has to be waterproof, windproof, hurricane and tornado proof, there are other famous works that don’t necessarily withstand weather but are meant to be installed outside. Andy Goldsworthy’s entire body of work is made from nature and is completely ephemeral. So is mine, but if I had to show it to the class, how can I do that if its destroyed because I left it outside to die? Anyway, the point is, my teacher gave me a bad grade just because it wasn’t outside. Its as though he didn’t even take into consideration the actual piece itself, its meaning, and overall theme. well that’s motivating.
And I apologize for this not too happy post, I guess I just need to share with someone my disagreement and frustration. Here are some photos of the piece, although I’ll admit it doesn’t look too great because again, it wasn’t in the correct setting. Its based on spirituality, so I’ll let you all discover what its about šŸ™‚ Try to image in it being in a big open field with the mirrors reflecting the sky…

Have a great weekend!

Some pics to help you imagine the sky in the mirrors

untangling my balloons…

